More of the Same

A few days ago we were made aware of this update on the ABWE website:

http://www.abwe.org/news/article/abwe-historical-investigaton-update/

For many, this is good news.  The loyal friends and fans of ABWE will throw out three cheers and pat them on the back.

The reality is, however, this is simply more of the same.  It simply says, “TRUST US.  We’ve got this all under control.”  They really believe that they do.

Because we have walked this road for over 2 decades (DECADES!), we have seen and heard this song and dance before.  This time, we will not sit back and say, “Thank goodness!”  No.  This time we probe a little deeper, asking a few more pointed questions.  And if ABWE is the NEW ABWE that they claim to be, they won’t mind answering. To begin with:

  1. Who (Specifically. By name.) are you accountable to?
  2. How can we believe that you have made ALL the proper authorities notified?  You implied that you did that here and here before admitting that you didn’t here.
  3. What disciplinary action was taken?  Did it look like this?  Or, even worse,  like this? Or, hopefully, like this?
  4. Do you have any responsibility to follow what civil law dictates or are you only bound by “where Scripture dictates”?  In other words, were these child abusers, regardless of their age, employment status, or current place of  residency, reported to local authorities?

In short, there is only one over-riding question:

Where is the report?  Seeing is believing.

About Bangladesh MKs Speak

We are a group of American former missionary kids (MKs) who lived in Bangladesh while Donn Ketcham worked as a missionary doctor there with the mission agency Association of Baptists for World Evangelism (ABWE) out of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.
This entry was posted in Abuse Mishandling, ABWE's Response. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to More of the Same

  1. concerned reader says:

    Thank you for this post as I had not read the article.

    Unbelievably ABWE according to their investigation of “ALL” other cases or suspected case of child abuse have been investigated, followed up and closed in record time.. with supposedly all proper authorities reported too. This is in contrast with GRACE actually taking the time to talk to survivors and possible witnesses.

    Now maybe they are right not to be naming names of surviors w/o their permission but couldn’t we have numerical statistics? Shouldn’t supporters know the depth of the investigation….more than 4 cases?? Interesting, too that they didn’t use the GRACE organization to add on a more inclusive investigation of other cases, as long as, they were digging into records. Also how did the investigators KNOW where to look for other cases? Seems there might be some kind of record keeping that hasn’t been revealed? I will end with the beginning–Unbelievable.

  2. Jo says:

    I am amazed at how quickly ABWE investigated, corrected, slapped a few wrists, closed the files, and is now moving on. Imagine that. This doesn’t surprise me one bit. Could some of the Survivors remind us what we can do to help them in light of this ‘report’?

  3. amazed says:

    The question that arises in my mind from this is, when you move someone who is involved in spiritual abuse from one position to another in order to ‘protect’ them is that not a sign that you are unrepentant still?

    Even though they have owned it, the question arises really? This is a case of where you really would like to believe, but now fruits meat to repentance need to be shown. It isn’t putting out more public words, it is about putting in real communication and work. It would be best for ABWE to correct things quietly and go to the survivors first without posting it to the world. Then allowing those who were wronged to post comments or blurbs about it on the ABWE website- that would show restoration. Anything else looks like propaganda. Although, again one would that what they said were true.

    My deepest concern is that those involved have been ‘moved’ about within ABWE.

  4. Susannah Goddard Weldy says:

    Yes- record time. As someone who received a letter from Simms Showers I can say that I did indeed respond to their letter, but my response was vague and open ended- begging a response or follow up from them so I would know they were actually conducting a legitimate investigation, but I was never contacted again. I guess that was enough for them to close my file.

  5. isaiah 618 says:

    Susannah –

    As you know, I received a letter too. I didn’t respond and they never made another attempt to connect with me. Simms Showers (and ABWE for that matter) made their first mistake by mailing their letter as certified. They built walls before we even knew who they were. Secondly, it was a VERY busy time for me as we were preparing to take a huge mission trip and be gone overseas for over a month. School work for five children to collect organize, vaccinations, packing, passports and visas….we were swamped and ABWE’s “historical investigation” was the least of my concerns.

    If they were truly concerned about “getting to the bottom of things”, wouldn’t they have been gently persistent in their attempts to communicate with us? (as was GRACE) I saw your letter….you clearly indicated that you DID have more information that they should investigate. I can’t believe they never followed through with you. (Well, maybe I can.)

    This is so typical of ABWE. They didn’t want GRACE to begin with but they agreed in order to quiet us down. But then they go and hire their own “more acceptable” firm to do their own “more thorough” investigation. (I guarantee there is a connection with Simms Showers and someone at the home office or on the ABWE BoD.)

    I find it AMAZING that Simms Showers has been given unlimited access to ABWE’s files and has been able to comb through them so quickly, as well as follow through with an investigation into each case (8+, if I’m counting correctly in their statement). That is better time than Pennsylvania’s Thirty-Third Statewide Investigating Grand Jury who took “a period of years” to conduct an “investigation into reported sexual assaults of minor male children by Gerald A. Sandusky”. Simms Showers must be something to behold!

    This is ludicrous and ABWE is a joke. As you well know Susannah, I have been standing here on an island holding out hope for them. I’m afraid I’m done. I just don’t think I can stomach it anymore. They are not who they claim to be and they think we are simple enough to fall for their slick lies yet again.

    Oh to have this more meaningful and clearly more thorough investigation over with! I want to close the ABWE chapter of my life once and for all. I hate that it hurts so much to say that.

    Diana

    • amazed says:

      Thank you for posting this because as an outside observer, you give us insight into the workings going on in the situation. Also, I think it is very brave and helpful. Thank you. Praying for you.

    • Rebecca says:

      Been awhile since I’ve been over here, but you all continue to be in my mind and my prayers. I’m sorry to see their level of smug corruption continues apace. I’m more sorry that you all still can’t get peace.

      Luke 18:1-8
      Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart, saying: “There was in a certain city a judge who did not fear God nor regard man. Now there was a widow in that city; and she came to him, saying, ‘Get justice for me from my adversary.’ And he would not for a while; but afterward he said within himself, ‘Though I do not fear God nor regard man, yet because this widow troubles me I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.’”

      Then the Lord said, “Hear what the unjust judge said. And shall God not avenge His own elect who cry out day and night to Him, though He bears long with them? I tell you that He will avenge them speedily.

      Eventually, your “continual coming” will weary them.

  6. Susannah Goddard Weldy says:

    I did close that chapter of my life, back in 1990 when my family returned from Bangladesh. I am thankful I have had the opportunity to stand up and speak for my best friend and other victims who were silenced for way too long. As I have said from the beginning, the truth is known by the One who matters most and in the end He will judge each one of us. May He find me faithful.

  7. amazed says:

    Can I ask if this is the same simm showers llp – big lawyer corporation located in Maryland and Virginia?

  8. Tamara Rice says:

    I never had time to go pick up my letter from the post office in March, as it’s certified status made it hard for my postman to deliver to me. I got one of those notices, but didn’t have time to pick it up and knew from old MK friends what it was. I kept thinking I’d have time to Google their contact information and say something, but I was leery of them, wanted to learn more about them first, and then life got in the way. I also knew that ABWE leadership–though perhaps not their hired help Simms Showers–knew everything that I knew, so I did not feel an urgency to speak up. Still, I had no idea they would close the books so quickly. Shame on me for not trying harder to get that letter, but shame on them for giving up on me so easily and closing the books prematurely. It definitely makes me wonder what was missed (and perhaps just as sad, what was already known) that they could wrap these up so swiftly.

    I am very disturbed that we have no way of knowing if they have actually done what they say they’ve done. ABWE needs to figure out how to prove they’ve acted, reported, informed, fired. Surely they do not expect us to take their word for it at this point.

  9. Ken and Sue James says:

    We are the parents of a victim in Bangladesh and they did not try to contact us in anyway at all. How can they say they have closed the case when our daughter was abused and has been mistreated by ABWE in various ways (which hopefully one day will come out)?. How can they say they have closed the case? Grace has met with us and it was hard to share everything but they care and listen. They are honest and want the truth. We felt at ease and were listened to. We left there feeling that for once someone really cared about our daughter and our family. All we ever wanted to do was to serve our Lord wherever He led us or leads us now. We are asked many times why we trust God in all our trials but we have never felt like abandioning God. We have cried, and plead, and asked why but never wanted to quit. Again we feel betrayed by ABWE in that they feel it is closed. It has not even begun. Why would a Christian Organization not want to be open and willing to share whatever it takes to make things right? I have asked that over and over. All we asked is that they humble themselves and cooperate with GRACE because they want to do what is right. I just do not understand their not wanting to do things in a Godly way, no matter what it takes to help these girls. I do not understand. If they or anyone can answer this question I would appreciate it. I will not abandion the girls and will do anything I can do to help so they and us can be healed. It has been many years and you would think they would want to help in ANY way they could.

  10. Jo says:

    Tamara, I’m sorry you didn’t have time to pick up your certified mail. I have no words….

  11. whatyareckon says:

    Nothing has really changed within ABWE. Read my article at whatyareckon@wordpress.com

Comments are closed.