Ed Stetzer’s Connection to ABWE–WITH HAPPY UPDATE!

UPDATE ON 9/8/2012: WE ARE SO THRILLED TO SAY THAT ED FINALLY BROKE HIS SILENCE. HE DOES NOT SUPPORT ABWE’S ACTIONS. HE UNDERSTANDS THE PRICE OF SILENCE. THANK YOU, ED. THANK YOU. READ THIS, FRIENDS.

Ed Stetzer recently made some fantastic comments about the importance of protecting children in this article with Thom Rainer about the Penn State scandal. I believe wholeheartedly in what he’s saying publicly, which is in part:

“Protecting children is so important that we have to resist the idea of ‘let’s address this ourselves.’ That’s illegal and it’s also unwise,” Stetzer explained. (Read here.)

But to Ed Stetzer, I must say: How can you say these things when you are still associating yourself with ABWE and have not publicly condemned their incompetence and ignorance in the matter of child abuse?

Ed Stetzer (from ABWE.org)

You are probably saying right now: “Why call this man out publicly? Why didn’t you go to your brother in Christ before saying this?” And to you, I would say that I absolutely did go to my brother in Christ. Months ago. I warned him in an email that his staff assured me he would read. I said he should reconsider his relationship with ABWE and if he had any influence with them he should push for the right thing. I absolutely did what I could to warn him privately on May 6, 2011, and expressed my disappointment that he would be associated with such an institution and reminded him they carried his name and photo on their website. (MY EMAIL TO ED Page 1 and Page 2)

He walked right into this. 

I had no response from him, other than his staff’s assurance that he would read my email. And now that everyone is jumping on the child abuse reporting bandwagon, here he comes too, right out of the gate, having never responded to my private cry for help with an institution he is aligned with.

Ed Stetzer, I can only hope that you are pushing quietly for the right thing at ABWE with whatever pull you have there. But I cannot help but point out how strange it is that a man who considers care for children of the utmost importance and reporting to proper authorities of the utmost importance would still allow ABWE to use his name and picture on their website.

You were warned. I did the right thing. Now it’s your turn, Ed.

— Wounded MK

About Bangladesh MKs Speak

We are a group of American former missionary kids (MKs) who lived in Bangladesh while Donn Ketcham worked as a missionary doctor there with the mission agency Association of Baptists for World Evangelism (ABWE) out of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.
This entry was posted in Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ed Stetzer’s Connection to ABWE–WITH HAPPY UPDATE!

  1. Rebecca says:

    Every situation presents us with a choice. When you make your choice, that is the story that will be written about you. Donn Ketcham chose to rape children. ABWE chose to cover it up, and cover it up and cover it up. Those that continue to affiliate themselves with such darkness, who continue to make that choice in spite of overwhelming evidence of the damage the darkness caused, that is the story that will be written about them.

    Ask yourself, those who still consider ABWE a worthwhile place to park your reputation, or your good name? Do you want their story to be your story? Do you want that legacy to be yours? They may still yet change course, but it’s not looking good. Do you really, really, want to go down with the ship?

  2. isaiah 618 says:

    Well, it just gets better. Here in this next article, Ed really packs a punch with his opening line, and I agree with EVERYTHING he is saying (and he quotes church growth expert Thom Rainer too).

    So … why did he not say all of this to the world when I told him ABWE had covered for a child molester? Are his friends at ABWE the exception to the rule here?

    Ed Stetzer says in this one: “I’ve been shocked, along with most of the world, that someone could witness child sexual abuse, or get a report of it, and not report it to the police.”

    Was he NOT shocked when I told him Russ Ebersole, Russ Lloyd, Michael Loftis and others at ABWE had done the same?

    http://www.edstetzer.com/2011/11/thom-rainer-on-penn-state-prot.html

  3. watching closely says:

    It has been 8 months since this blog was launched, 8 months and 1 day. So much has happened in these past 8 months. So much has happened in these last 8 days. Tension is mounting, we can all feel it. You can cut it with a knife.

    I just want to encourage all of you MK’s to hold fast. Don’t lose heart; you are almost at the finish line. God is doing a mighty work, in you and in some of our churches. I’m sorry for all you had to experience to bring things to where they are today, but I’m glad to see how God can use even that to bring about change, to revitalize the Church, or at least a part of it. We are here with you, still, and we are watching closely, still.

    Donna Bos

  4. Rebecca says:

    Yeah, I agree with Donna…Something is about to break. I can feel it. I haven’t felt it this strongly since you were all on the cusp of getting them to agree to G.R.A.C.E. Resistance is rising, tension has come back and there are some indications of wagon-circling and reputation-protecting again. This means, particularly in the wake of Penn State, that there is movement. There will be more trouble up the road, more battles to fight. But hold on. You have no idea how brave you all are. No idea how much love is out here for you and how much we admire you, respect you and pray for you.

    Hold fast. Joy is coming.

  5. Pamela E. Bennett says:

    Yes, these men say the right thing when it is expedient for them, but……………………….not only Ed Stetzer but Al Mohler needs to be read with caution, Al Mohler is associated with the Southern Baptist Convention and believe me they have heaps of sex scandal cover ups and collusion to answer to. See for yourself at Stop Baptist Predators by Crista Brown. I find it so trying that when a sex scandal in a secular organization comes to light it seems to be a sin but a sex scandal in a so called Christian organization is considered just “inappropriate behaviour.” Full stop.

  6. amazed says:

    I’m a bit stunned, because now it is the time to continue in prayer for all of you. It has been a routine to pray, but now today with several items on the blog, my heart has realized a fraction of what our support means to you. So I’ll try to double my efforts with God’s help in my prayers for all of you, and for the work that can cleanse and renew Christians. Prayer that the edifice of pride and attitudes of ABWE administration and Churches will tumble as the walls of Jericho.

  7. Concerned says:

    Stetzer’s only connection that I find is that he spoke at ABWE in the past: http://www.edstetzer.com/2008/05/abwe.html. Ed strongly speaks out against child abuse (and the silence surrounding it) and you call him out because he spoke at ABWE 3 years ago? He is saying exactly what you want people to say. It’s counter-productive to your worthy cause to assail him because he hasn’t done what you suggest. The Rainer article, and Ed’s endorsement of it, is EXACTLY the kind of thing that we need the ABWE to read.

    We all know the GRACE investigation is going on, and are grateful for it. Let’s also be glad when men and women of stature support the cause that purge all institutions of people and mindsets that allowed the ABWE tragedy to happen.

    • isaiah 618 says:

      That’s what you “find” but do you KNOW?

      Maybe if Stetzer cared enough about whatever his connection IS do DO SOMETHING about that connection when I informed him on May 6, 2011, that there was a huge problem of this nature at ABWE, I wouldn’t have felt it necessary to call his kettle black. It’s very easy to say the right things about child abuse when even ESPN is saying them. Another to say them when it costs you friends and maybe future speaking engagements. I’m just pointing out that Ed made a choice to not say such things when a Christian institution he’s associated enough with to be on their website was accused of the same things.

      As it was, he never even responded to my email, even though we have met on several occasions and have mutual friends. If I were him the least I would have done would be to ask ABWE to immediately remove my image from their website even if I believed the matter to be “allegations” not “facts.”

      So I don’t feel a bit guilty or concerned over calling him out. Yes, he says the things we want Christians to say. But did he DO them? As in, calling out ABWE? Unless he proves otherwise, the resounding answer has thus far been NO, and we have to get Christians to DO the hard things. Not just say them.

      So while I’m glad “someone of stature” is saying good things, I have no problem calling him out when his honor and fight comes a little too conveniently late in the battle. Did he actually DO anything? I’d like to know, but I haven’t heard from him, even though I emailed him the post.

      • amazed says:

        The James passage comes to mind, “Be a Doer not only a Hearer.” It is good for all of us. I support Isaiah 618 in this. Why? Because she did write him a letter, and supposedly this is part of his ministry. So then why did he not respond? Hopefully, he will respond. This is the type of Christianity that I’m facing daily, even in my own life. Do I do what I’m supposed to do or do I just mouth the words and hope I never have to face things. We all have aversion to conflict, but Christ told us we’d have trials, He also promised to be with us and never leave us.

        If Ed Stetzer wants churches to be a certain way about this subject then should not he lead by example? He has just had an opportunity given to him. I’m praying that he will respond.

      • isaiah 618 says:

        Thanks, Amazed. Yes, there are more than one of us moderating as Isaiah618, but I’ve chosen to be discrete about my identity in this case. However, I emailed him directly with this post. He knows exactly who I am and how we are connected and what I’ve said about him.

        Your Scripture passage is exactly what I’m trying to say. Lip service is not enough. We have to be doers. We have to DO HARD THINGS.

Comments are closed.