ABWE Names Board Members

After years of secrecy regarding the identities of the board members, this past week ABWE decided to post the names of each and every board member on their website, along with an email address by which to contact them. (Note: some have personal email addresses, and some go to the general board@abwe.org address.)

[NOTE: On April 4,2011, it was recognized that on the ABWE site, individual email addresses are no longer available for ANY board member. All members are only available at board@abwe.org]

Also missing is bio information, but that is something that could take time to gather and write, but we hope it will eventually come as well. For now, each board member’s city and state are listed.

This is a great step, and we’re excited that ABWE took it. Here is the list (in alphabetical order) of the board members’ names:

2011 ABWE Board Members
Amstutz, Bill Union Grove, WI
Ball, William Cobourg, ON
Beddoe, Darrell Bremerton, WA
Berrus, Ron Shiremanstown, PA
Brubacher, Marvin Cambridge, ON
Christen, Richard Paget, Bermuda
Cockrell, Al New Cumberland, PA
Euler, Donald Chattanooga, TN
Faulkner, Randy Oklahoma City, OK
Geurink, James Valparaiso, IN
Green, Larry Cleveland Heights, OH
Kroll, F. Gerald Lynchburg, VA
Lancaster, Jerry Seminole, FL
Large, G. Stephen Dillsburg, PA
Loftis, Michael New Cumberland, PA
McFarland, Allen Portsmouth, VA
McGhee, Yvonna Dayton, OH
Polson, Samuel Knoxville, TN
Roorda, Keith Monroe, IA
Trout, Jeff Englewood, CO
Ware, A. Charles Indianapolis, IN
Willey, Mark Mt. Laurel, NJ
About Bangladesh MKs Speak

We are a group of American former missionary kids (MKs) who lived in Bangladesh while Donn Ketcham worked as a missionary doctor there with the mission agency Association of Baptists for World Evangelism (ABWE) out of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.
This entry was posted in ABWE's Response, Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ABWE Names Board Members

  1. isaiah 61:8 says:

    Wanted to note again, that the contact email for each board member is on the ABWE site (see first link of the post), but most are still only available through the board@abwe.org email address.

  2. paulspassingthoughts says:

    Ok, That’s weird. Why wouldn’t this board be a matter of public knowledge? Is this unusual? Just wondering.

  3. Late to the Game says:

    Click here to see ABWE Canada’s Board of Directors.
    Click here to see Evangelical Baptist Missions’ Board of Directors (bottom of page).
    Click here to see Baptist International Missions, Inc.’s Board of Trustees.

    Three of the first four Baptist mission boards I looked at had their board members listed on the website.

  4. Sian says:

    I’m a former MK (parents were missionaries in India for 30+ years and I lived there from 0-18 years old) and whilst I am no longer a Christian (partly because of my disgust with missionary and Christian organisations amongst which the kind of awful abuse described in this blog is all too common) I have been following this blog with initial horror and then admiration for those of you who have bravely spoken out about your abuse–you have done so with such grace and maturity. I am both appalled and yet unsurprised to see that the list of board members has only one woman on it. It explains a great deal in respect of ABWEs egregious response to the abuse from the start and gives me one more reason to be thankful that I saw the light and turned my back on Christianity and its backward ways years ago. ‘The World’ as it gets called has frankly proven to be a more civilized and generous place than the Church ever was , at least to me.

    If I still prayed I would certainly be doing so for you wonderful women. Instead, I send you my heartfelt admiration and my hopes for healing wherever you may find it. There are many of us MKs out here watching, listening, and wishing you all the very best that life has to offer.

    • isaiah 61:8 says:

      Sian, I’m glad you are here.
      I pray you can see something in Christians here that you have not seen elsewhere. I agree that sometimes “the world” is a friendlier or more civilized place, and I too feel that one woman on the board is not enough–though there are many who would say that one is too many. Know that there are Christians who feel as you do, but have still found their peace in Jesus, despite things we’ve seen His followers do that might make us want to turn away. Thanks for not looking away from this mess of ashes. It can still become something beautiful.
      Know that your support as a fellow MK is appreciated.
      — Tamara Barrick Rice

  5. A friend of a victim says:

    I know that a few years ago, ABWE had all of this information listed on their website, including a picture of the board. I am sad to say that we have experience with one of these board members and I have no doubt in my mind that he will do ANYTHING to protect himself and his so-called “reputation” and that of ABWE. So very, very sad.

  6. Rebecca says:

    As I said my prayers this evening, the Scriptures in the Lectionary today included the following. It seems timely given all that has gone on and I felt I should share it:

    John 3:20-21
    For everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed. But he who does the truth comes to the light, that his deeds may be clearly seen, that they have been done in God.

    We must pray that they continue to come toward the light, whether they want to or not.

    • An ABWE MK says:

      No verses to quote (although I’m sure I could find them if I took a little time) – was just thinking that hiding deeds not done in God will be exposed when brought into the light – but that repentance would come into the light and expose the evil deeds. Would that they would do it readily before God does it to them. I think God has begun. Perhaps it is more accurate to say, would that they had already repented so this didn’t need to be.

      By the way, for clarity sake, while I appreciate the letter of confession I doubt its sincerity. I doubt its sincerity because I think there would be more than words if it was meant truly. Although I suppose they do deserve a nod for at least doing that, and for allowing GRACE. They are beginnings.

      For that matter. What is with this agree to have GRACE but have to come to an agreement with them first and it is taking so long? Seems long to me. Am I just impatient?

  7. Sorting Through the Truth says:

    When it comes to the ABWE board–of which, Michael Loftis IS a member, as you can see above (which brings up questions of votes … does he have more of a vote or less of a vote as president/board member?)–but back too my point, without knowing how long some of these members have been on the board, it’s tough to say whether or not they knew ANYTHING about all of this before the blog.

    And, as someone pointed out, minutes from 2002 board meetings should reveal whether or not Michael Loftis brought the additional abuse allegations to their attention as he should have. I hope they are asking themselves this same question.

    But the question remains … did the board of 1989 even know that the victim was 14? It seems to have been so hush-hush, that it’s not entirely out of the question that the board of ABWE (as a whole–though surely certain members have known over the years) has NEVER been given the truth about Donn Ketcham until the start of this blog.

    And if they are not given the truth about what goes on at headquarters or on the field, how can they advise and lead with any sort of effectiveness? I’m not quick to blame the board for the past failures of the administration because I assume they were ignorant of the truth, but if they don’t do some major revamping of how business is done at headquarters (and who does it) how can they effectively lead?

    It is times like these when major structural changes are called for. I understand waiting for GRACE. But some things are already clear and no Sherlock Holmes is necessary to point out where the blame falls.

  8. isaiah 61:8 says:

    BLOG NOTICE: IF YOU HAVE INFORMATION FOR GRACE, PLEASE SEE THIS POST.

  9. Kitkat says:

    I don’t know if any of you are aware, but Dr. Loftis is also on the board of Cedarville University. And that board has also come under scrutiny for a number of problems, including: bullying and cover-ups. Several professors are now unemployed because of what is going on there. Google: Cedarville Problems

Comments are closed.